Jean-Philippe Nuel


Jean-Philippe Nuel

A design professional who oversees hotel projects around the world, Jean-Philippe Nuel also creates sets (for the salon Maison & Objet) and designs furniture for Ligne Roset and Cinna.

Still inspired by his studies at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, he has maintained a young, fresh touch, meaning he throws himself body and soul into designing internal and external architecture, drawing inspiration from film and literature.

In Trouville-sur-Mer, he was spoilt for choice. Writers have often found refuge here, finding pages worth of inspiration. Flaubert, Stendhal, Proust and Marguerite Duras.

Duras fell in love with this fishing port in the Calvados area at the age of 17. In 1963 she finally bought a small flat, nestled in the old Roches Noires building, where she wrote The Ravishing of Lol Stein, Emily L and The Lover.

Jean-Phillippe Nuel reminds visitors and guests of the Cures Marines hotel of the link with these authors by engraving quotes in huge letters on walls here and there, like this one: “It is at Trouville that I watched the sea to nothing. Trouville is the solitude of my whole life.” (Extract from Writing by Marguerite Duras).

Jean-Philippe Nuel


  • 3

Jean-Philippe Nuel

Cet « accompagnateur de projets hôteliers » dans le monde entier, réalise aussi des scénographies (le salon Maison & Objet) et signe du mobilier pour Ligne Roset et Cinna.

De ses études à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris, il garde cette fraîcheur juvénile qui lui permet de plonger corps et âme dans l’architecture extérieure comme intérieure, tout en cherchant l’inspiration dans le cinéma et la littérature.

À Trouville-sur-Mer, il a été gâté. Les écrivains y ont toujours trouvé refuge pour noircir leurs pages blanches : Flaubert, Stendhal, Proust et Marguerite Duras.

Tombée amoureuse de ce port de pêcheurs du Calvados à 17 ans, elle a attendu 1963 pour acheter un petit appartement lové dans l’ancien hôtel des Roches Noires où elle a écrit « Le ravissement de Lol V. Stein », « Émily L » et « L’Amant ».

L’occasion pour Jean-Philippe Nuel de rappeler aux visiteurs et hôtes des Cures Marines la présence de ces auteurs au travers de phrases gravées en lettres géantes sur quelques murs comme celle-ci : « C’est à Trouville que j’ai regardé la mer jusqu’au rien. Trouville c’est une solitude de ma vie entière. » (Extrait de « Écrire » de Marguerite Duras).